Full list of updated green, amber and red countries – and the rules when you travel

The UK government might have given people more options for foreign travel but some destinations, such as Portugal which is on the amber list, are bringing in their own restrictions for British passengers.

From 28 June travellers to Portugal who are not fully vaccinated against coronavirus must quarantine for 14 days on arrival. This will last until 11 July.

Spain’s Balearic islands, Malta and Madeira were among the destinations added to the green list in the latest update to the UK’s travel traffic light system.

But Spain’s government has now said that Britons arriving in Mallorca, Ibiza and other Balearic Islands will have to present a negative test result or proof of vaccination.

Changes to the policy are made based on the COVID-19 situation in different countries.

Here is the updated green list

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Balearic Islands (Formentera, Ibiza, Mallorca, Menorca)
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Iceland
  • Israel and Jerusalem
  • Madeira
  • Malta
  • Montserrat
  • New Zealand
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Singapore
  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

The lists can be amended at any time, but the next formal review is expected in three weeks.

COVID-19 Traffic Light: What you should do when you return to England from these countries

Main restrictions:
Red list: Hotel-quarantine for 10 days & pre-departure test, plus PCR test on day 2 and 8.
Amber list: Home-quarantine for 10 days & pre-departure test, plus PCR test on day 2 and 8. “Test to release” option on day 5.
Green list: Pre-departure test & PCR test on or before day 2.

Read the full article here for more information